The regression

I did it. I had been running Windows Vista Ultimate x64 since the beginning of last year on my Dell Dimension 8400. In the process of things, I upgraded the 1gb of RAM to 3gb to try and get things moving. I have a decent PCI-X Nvidia 6800 video card with 256mb RAM. I was hopeful of improvement with the recent SP1 release. I installed that and really saw no difference in performance.

I knew it had to go. I kept thinking Windows ME, anyone? I undertook the project last night (4/27) at around 6:30pm. I attempted XP Pro x64 but it was in a constant reboot loop and I couldn’t see the BSOD info as it zipped by too fast. I looked this up on Google without any real good findings. I was put under a time deadline from my lovely wife, Rachel at 9:30. I had to move on this as it needed to be at an operational state before tomorrow when Debs came in to work.

Currently, I have the 32-bit WinXP Pro SP2 running. I installed the minimums, which include FireFox, AVG Free 8.0, and the needed hardware drivers. I am holding off on installing all the windows updates (100+!!!) until tomorrow when XP SP3 is released on Windows Update. This should save like half a day of rebooting and downloading.

If anyone knows how I can get x64 XP running, that would be great. Or let me know if it’s just not worth it at this point.

Information about my system to give you more perspective:

Dell Dimension 8400; Intel Pentium 4/ht 3.0GHz; 3gb dual channel RAM; 250GB SATA HDD (not the 3gb/s) partitioned into 50gb and 200gb slices; nVidia GeForce 6800 256mb PCI-x; Creative Audigy 2zs; 52x DVD-Rom; 16x/40x DVD r/w / CD r/w; 1tb Ext FireWire Drive

Chalk this up to bleeding edge technology not always being the best method. I never really got the Audigy working well enough. I scored highly on all the performance ratings built-in to Vista, but it never felt solid or fast. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the look and feel, the cool games, etc… But it never popped for me. I feel like I gave it more than a year to prove itself and it failed. Even after the highly touted SP1 update, it failed to impress me. Let’s just wait for Windows 7, I guess.

Author: Timmy

Radio broadcaster and IT Pro. Livin' and Lovin'! Married to my beautiful wife and have one son.

2 thoughts on “The regression”

  1. Pingback: avg updates
  2. Pingback: windows xp x64

Leave a Reply

