Not sure what to do…

UPDATE: I added 80’s music to the library. I will slowly make changes as we go. Keep watching the KXRT Blog for updates!

Many of you know (should know!) I operate a small internet radio station. I love it! It’s a lot of fun and is challenging at times. You may/should also know that I really love Country music. It was this, among some other ideas that prompted me to transform my radio station from a huge variety of Country, Pop, Rock songs to just strictly Country. In the few months that this has been going, I have noticed that I am the only one listening! I was hoping that by focusing down to one genre, I would get a more solid listener base. Instead, I have none. 😦 I now am toying with the idea of switching it back the way I had it previously, with the huge variety.

There are some problems. I had some great friends produce some station ID’s based upon this new format of all Country. These are incredible and best of all, free! If I do go back to the old way, I might be pushing my luck with those guys who made these imaging elements. I have ZERO (0) budget for this operation and am very limited by that major constraint. I am looking for your thoughts.

Using the Comments feature of the blog, can you please provide your feedback for what I should do? I would like to wait this out a bit to see if something happens, but it really hasn’t shown much potential. I am leaning towards converting back to the previous format of all three genres: Country, Rock & Pop. Please let me know.

Thanks!

-Timmy

Author: Timmy

Radio broadcaster and IT Pro. Livin' and Lovin'! Married to my beautiful wife and have one son.

One thought on “Not sure what to do…”

  1. one of the best radio stations i ever heard, the original radioio, was wildly eclectic, but programmed in a very intelligent way that connected music in sometimes unexpected but sensible ways. back in the very early days, it was literally a 50 listener max station, yet many people listened that might surprise you, like Lisa Loeb, Dave Matthews, and Nora Jones (radioio broke her actually)

    so yeah, i would say PLEASE go forward with making your station eclectic. here’s something kinda funny… Radioio now has over 60 stations, yet they only have 50% more listeners than they had with that one original station.

    Niche is a very important thing to remember when doing some business models…. but… it isn’t the only thing people want on the internet. 🙂 sometimes people want variety that has a certain vibe to it.

Leave a Reply

