Google’s Browser: Chrome

I downloaded from here today. I have to say, it’s a very clean interface. It seems fast. Let me quick check the memory use with these 3 tabs open… One sec… BRB…  Ok, sorry I’m back now. So I had to look because in Task Manager (WinXP SP3), it showed about 6 instances of chrome.exe running. I closed down the open tabs and saw the instances close. Then I closed the app and they all left. I was concerned at first, thinking that I had some hung instances. That wasn’t the case. Apparently, each tab is an instance and there’s a spare for good measure. I will have to look into this. I only heard of this browser a couple days ago.

Google Chrome
Google Chrome

So far, I am pretty impressed. It’s quick, clean and well, without doing the math, looks like it’s handling memory pretty well. Also not seeing a spell checker, which is a killer feature in FireFox. I can only assume future releases will prove useful. I think the separate instances is nice so if one part of the app breaks or crashes, it won’t pull the whole app down. I am excited to see how this progresses. I fully recommend you download it and give it a shot. Let me know what you find.

-Timmy

Author: Timmy

Radio broadcaster and IT Pro. Livin' and Lovin'! Married to my beautiful wife and have one son.

3 thoughts on “Google’s Browser: Chrome”

  1. Anything google makes will probably be pretty cool and this is no exception. Do they call it ‘Crome Beta’ like they do Gmail? You know Gmail has been beta now for about 5 yrs!? Anyway, I may download this, too. I wonder how it works with SSL secure (https) pages?

  2. Pretty weak in deed of Google…but as long as it’s free and it works great as it does, I guess I can get used to it. I just wonder what a production product (non-beta) would look like?

Leave a Reply

