I’m Alive!

Folks, I am here! Life has been a little interesting lately. I’ve really been focused on family and life in general lately. We had some upsetting news as of late that has taken center stage in our lives. I’m not totally ready to divulge all the details at this time. If you are close with us, you already know. Let’s just say it was really hard to hear it and it’s taking awhile to sink in. Don’t get all worked up it’s nothing really tragic, no one is terminally ill. We’re all pretty healthy, actually. I’ll refer to the aforementioned as our primary concern.

On top of our primary concern, we’ve made a big life-changing decision that involves every aspect of our lives. Our jobs, Wyatt’s school, Church, and ultimately, where we will live. Since 2002, I’ve wanted to return to Washington to live. Opportunities never presented themselves. It never felt right. When we moved from CA to UT, it felt really good, plus my employer was paying for it all! We were able to buy a nice home in a great neighborhood, we both had wonderful jobs. Since then (about 2 years later), we no longer have those jobs and things are getting difficult to manage. We have good jobs, but they’re not so wonderful. For the past couple years, I’ve said, “This is the year we move to WA”. 2010 was the first time when I said it, it really struck a chord and felt more right.

Preparations are underway. We met with a Realtor to get some idea of the process and the health of the market. Our plan is to wait for Wyatt to be out of school. We’ll probably have a couple yard/garage sales to de-clutter things. I’m pretty excited about the entire prospect of returning home.

There are a number of reasons I feel like going back home. My sweet Mother tops that list. I miss her. I want to be near to be helpful. My youngest brother is back home from his mission and living with her but I think his active lifestyle and dating will keep him out and about. She needs to sell her house. She’s not a picture of health and has her moments. I just feel very drawn to her.

Another reason is the rest of my family live up there. My younger brother lives in Tacoma, my older sister lives a few hours away, in Spokane. We took our trip up there and it felt SO GOOD to be up there with all of them and their beautiful families. I still have a lot of great friends that are up there as well and it will be classic to be able to get back in touch and have some regular get-togethers with them.

Washington State is beautiful! I love “my” mountain, Mt. Rainier. It stands to the east and is constant and sure. Of course, the weather does it’s best to deter that consistency. The lush, always green landscape is comforting. The rain is fantastic and really has a familiarity that even though some mock and downplay it, I think they all secretly love it and miss it when it’s gone for too long! I know I missed it horribly when we lived in Sacramento. It rained a few weeks a year. Utah is a bit of an improvement, but the heavy snow get’s kinda old after awhile. Evergreen trees are all over the place in Washington. (I must note that in this paragraph I am speaking ONLY of Western WA) They provide good shade and just a super scenic landscape.

We have some hurdles to overcome in moving away. We have stable jobs, a nice house, and some really REALLY close and dear friends. We do our best to try to convince them that they need to move up there with us, but it’s probably not going to happen. We will really miss them and will do our best to keep in touch and make visits.

Wish us luck in our endeavors! We will need that an your prayers!

Author: Timmy

Radio broadcaster and IT Pro. Livin' and Lovin'! Married to my beautiful wife and have one son.

One thought on “I’m Alive!”

  1. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a tremendous web site.

Leave a Reply

